News‎ > ‎

T33 Weekly Blast: Oct 14th

posted Oct 14, 2013, 8:19 AM by Sundeep Gupta


Oct 18 - 20 Mountain Man Rendezvous room for Webelos II  Sign up ( more below)

Oct 25 - 27 OA Fall Ordeal. Sign up here (more below)

Nov 1 - 3 Tamarancho Mountain Biking & Camping Sign up (more below)

Nov 5 - 19 Merit Badge Rally

Nov 23 Planet Granite outing. Signup coming soon. Contact Katie Jones


Scoutmaster Update

Brent Browning brent.browning@gmail.com


This weekend we had Scouts out cycling and orienteering.


From Mr. Narog: The Coyote Creek Cycling Classic was a huge success with a total of 19 Scouts and Adults enjoying the ride.  After a chilly start it turned into a perfect day with 3 Scouts riding 12.5 miles, 4 scouts cycling  25 miles and 5 scouts completing a 50 miler around UVAS reservoir.   All cyclists enjoyed a burger lunch at the finish line while watching the remote controlled airplanes in the park.


From Mr. Coolen: There were 185 Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, and Boy Scouts at the BAOC Scout-O competing in various orienteering courses.  Troop 33 had 20 Scouts present and we took 3rd place in the face of strong competition.  Congratulations Scouts!


Mountain Man Rendezvous

All Scouts and adults going to MMR plan on attending a 30 minute planning session immediately after the closing ceremony this week.  Remember to turn in your forms!.


This Week

First Years - Scouts will work on lashings.

Main Troop - We have guest speaker, Mr. Marcopulos, who works at Space Systems Loral!


Progress Reports

Last week I sent out individual progress reports.  If you have any questions please follow up with your Patrol Advisor.  You will find his contact info here: http://troop33.org/leadership


Merit Badge Rally

Counselors we need you!  Please email Kalai Kulandaivelu if you can teach a merit badge course at the rally in November.  We only have 3-4 signed up currently…


Need a Merit Badge Counselor?

Check out the list of Troop 33 Counselors available online:

http://troop33.org/scouts/advancement/merit-badges/counselors



Sign up now for Tamarancho Mountain Biking and Camping weekend

Mike Galles mgalles@yahoo.com

Please Sign up right away for a weekend of biking and camping in Tamarancho -- Nov 1st through 3rd.


Mountain Man Rendezvous - Money and Forms due THIS Tuesday 10/15

Laurie Hartford lauriehartford@comcast.net

Several important reminders:

  • This event is full for Boy Scouts, we have 2 spots open for Webelos.

  • Please bring a check for $50 and turn it into Mrs. Hartford at the troop meeting

  • Webelos turn in first two forms, Boy Scouts turn in all three forms:  1) Activity Consent form 2) Authorization and Consent to Minor form and 3) Black Powder Release form

  • Forms/checks not brought in this Tuesday will need to be dropped off at Mrs. Hartford's house before Friday (1223 Gronwall Lane, Los Altos, CA 94024).

  • Meet after the Troop meeting for food planning.

  • Meet Friday at 4:30pm @ LAUMC to checkout gear and assign carpools; we will return Sunday between 10am and noon.

  • Wear your uniforms for travel; bring Class B tshirts.

  • Bring a blank, white t-shirt if you would like to do silk screening.

  • Webelos 2 guests and their parents need to bring their own tents and sleeping bags.

  • Directions to Boulder Creek are here.


Training requirements for parents

Donna Marcopulos dmarcopulos@gmail.com

All parents who are committee members or who serve on BOR, please complete online Troop Committee Challenge. All parents who participate in any troop activity, please complete your youth protection training. Click here for details.


OA Fall Ordeal Oct 25 - 27

Ryan Biesty rbiesty1@gmail.com

Cost is $40 for candidates, $15 for members. Sign up here.


Reminder: Merit Badge Rally - Calling all MB Counselors, we need you!

Kalai Kulandaivelu kalai.kulandaivelu@gmail.com and Tacy Witter

Please click this link for details and contact us as soon as possible so we can plan room and logistics. Thanks for your time in doing this for our scouts!


Reminder: Recruiting time - know a Webelos II?

Caroline Tice ctice42@gmail.com or Bassam Khan bassam@khan-family.com

10/14 - Sibling sign ups begin

10/18-20 - Mountain Man Rendezvous

10/21 - Troop 33 sign ups begin

10/22 - Troop 33 Open House

Click here for more details


For questions on an activity or event, contact the activity owner listed. As an activity owner to have your items included in the T33 Weekly blast, please submit them to Sundeep Gupta sundeep.gupta@gmail.com by 5 pm Sunday for the following week’s edition.


Comments