Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow (OA) is Scouting's National Honor Society.  For almost 100 years, the OA has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives.  This recognition provides encouragement for others to live these ideals as well.  Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others.  OA service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich and help to extend Scouting to America's youth.

Arrowmen in the Pacific Skyline Council belong to the Ohlone Lodge proudly wear the emblem of the Ohlone Lodge on the right pocket flap of their uniform.

OA Membership and Leadership

Scouts are elected to the Order of the Arrow by their peers once each year.  In order to be eligible they must:
  1. Be a registered member of the Boy Scouts of America
  2. Be First Class or higher
  3. Have Unit leader approval
  4. Have experienced 15 days and nights of Boy Scout camping during the two-year period prior to the election.
Adults are nominated to the Order of the Arrow by a Select Nominating Committee once each year.  In order to be eligible they must:
  1. Be a registered member of the Boy Scouts of America.
  2. Have experienced 15 days and nights of Boy Scout camping during the two-year period prior to the election.
Adult selection is based on their ability to perform the necessary functions to help the Order fulfill its purpose, and is not for recognition of service, including current or prior positions.  Selected adults must be an asset the the Order because of demonstrated abilities, and must prove a positive example for the growth and development of the youth members of the lodge.

NOTE: The 15 days and nights must include one, but no more than one, long term camp* consisting of six consecutive days and five nights of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America.  The balance of the camping must be overnight, weekend, or other short-term camps.

*A "long-term camp" is one consisting of at least six consecutive days and five nights of resident camping. A "short-term camp" is five consecutive days and four nights or fewer.


Once each calendar year a chartered Boy Scout Troop may hold a unit election for the purpose of electing scout candidates for membership in the Order of the Arrow.  The Lodge Unit Election Team conducts the election with the help of the Troop OA Representative and the Troop OA Representative Adviser.  Eligible scouts are voted on by every youth member of the troop present at the election.  50% of the registered youth must be present to hold an election and a scout must receive 50% of the votes turned into the Lodge Unit Election Team.  The Lodge Unit Election Team counts the votes.  The results may be announced at a call-out scheduled for a later date.


After being elected (youth) or nominated (adults) and prior to attending an Ordeal induction, candidates for membership in the Order of the Arrow may participate in a call-out ceremony.  At this call-out ceremony, the results of the scout election and adult nominations are revealed.  The call-out ceremony may be performed at summer camp, a camporee, a call-out weekend or a troop meeting. Candidates subsequently participate in an Ordeal induction, intended to emphasize service and self-sacrifice.

Ordeal Membership 

Ordeal membership, following an Ordeal experience and induction ceremony, is the first step toward full membership in the Order of the Arrow. During the Ordeal experience, candidates maintain silence, receive small amounts of food, work on camp improvement projects, and sleep apart from other campers. The entire experience is designed to teach significant values. All scout and adult candidates for Ordeal membership must complete the Ordeal experience and participate in the Ordeal membership induction ceremony.

Brotherhood Membership 

Brotherhood membership, following 10 months of service as an Ordeal member and fulfilling certain requirements, signifies full membership in the Order of the Arrow.

Youth (Scout) Members

Scout Level

Justin Cai Ordeal
Charlie Crane Ordeal 


Joshua Kim Ordeal

Ryan Livengood Ordeal
Matthew Poppitz Ordeal

Ameen Qureshi Ordeal

Harrison Schachter Ordeal
Alec Song Ordeal
Robert Stanley Ordeal 

Trevor Stick Brotherhood

*Troop 33 OA Representative
In bold: eligible for Brotherhood membership

Youth (Adult) Members

(18-20 yrs) 

AdultLevel Registration

Bryan WebbBrotherhoodASM

Adult Members

AdultLevel Registration
Brent Browning BrotherhoodASM
Alan CyronBrotherhoodCommittee Chair
Carl GabrielsonOrdealASM
Jun KimOrdeal ASM
Tom Poppitz   OrdealScoutmaster
Ted MarcopulosBrotherhood ASM 
Brian MelleaBrotherhood  ASM
Blair NarogBrotherhoodASM
Peter StanleyOrdealASM
Chris Webb**BrotherhoodASM
Alex Marcopulos VigilASM

**Troop 33 OA Representative Adviser
In bold: eligible for Brotherhood membership

Leadership Honor Roll

  • Ohlone Lodge Chief
    • 2007-2008 - Ian Davis
    • 2011-2012 - John Wilken
  • Ohlone Lodge Vice Chief, Administration
    • 2010-2011 - John Wilken
    • 2016-2017 - Jacob Frank
  • Ohlone Lodge Vice Chief, Inductions
    • 2011-2013 - Caelan Conant
  • Ohlone Lodge Secretary
    • 2006-2007 - Ian Davis
  • Ohlone Lodge Treasurer
    • 2005-2006 - Ian Davis
    • 2011-2012 - Chas Wilken
    • 2015-2017 - Ryan Biesty
  • Ohlone Ceremony Team
    • 2005-2008 - Ian Davis
    • 2010-2013 - Caelan Conant
    • 2010-2013 - John Wilken
  • Puyson Chapter (Village) Chief
    • 2008-2009 - Ryan Browning
  • Troop 33 OA Representative
    • 2009-2010 - John Wilken
    • 2010-2011 - Calean Conant
    • 2011-2013 - Tim Cyron
    • 2013 - Andrew Aguilar
    • 2013-2015 - Ryan Biesty
    • 2015 - Andrew Aguilar
    • 2015-2016 - Jacob Frank
    • 2016 - Andrew Aguilar
    • 2016-2017 - Jared Biesty
    • 2017-2019 - Ameen Qureshi
    • 2019 - Present - Andrew Zhu 
  • Troop 33 OA Representative Adviser
    • 2009-2012 - Mike Conant
    • 2012-2015 - Dean Wilken
    • 2015-2019 - Douglas MacLeod
    • 2019-Present - Chris Webb